Rouge Vif d” Etampes

38120459_4cf8dc2c1b_b

We are being sold down river even by the so-called friendlies, surprised much? You should not be. No long dissertations…. you all read the news, and the other blogs. The Hookers in DC on both sides of the aisle and the so-called Oath Keepers have sold your ass for a few shekels.

Things are getting better? Sure the stock market is zooming to the moon, and precious metals are dropping like dead flies, getting better huh? The profiteers are taking their next big pay raise……. out of your ass end.

Tangible items will be the only thing you can count on, ammo, guns, garden seed…… PREPS, and Do Not let anyone tell you it’s “Materialism” buy like there is no tomorrow! Materialism……… my aching ass! A few of the sharp marbles in the bowl will understand the reference, it had something to do with a broke brain.

I am shoring up every week that passes, I need to finish the green house frame and get it covered, I installed some grow lamps over the weekend. I can now germinate my Heirloom Garden Seed indoors under the grow lights, until they are ready to be transplanted outdoors. It’s a very simple process and help to insure a higher survival rate of the germinated seeds.

You can buy your grow lamp bulbs at Home Depot, T-8 grow light bulbs will fit an any 4′ long T-8 light fixture. They are about 9 bucks each for the 4 footers. The Hoop House will be completed soon, it will allow me to grow tomatoes, summer squash and any other item I could not normally grow in the winter time done here in Texas.

Less irrigation during the winter months as well, and less insect battles too. The hoop house at the apex is 12′ High, it’s 45′ Long and 32′ wide. The one inch irrigation piping is going in now.

100_1822

100_1823

100_1824

The last attached picture if you expand it you can see my other garden down by the edge of the woodline, it’s just under 1/4 acre I will be soon planting it with Rouge Vif d” Etampes Pumpkins. These are great for storing and eating. Mind you this is NOT a carving pumpkin.

pumpkin-rouge-vif-detampes-side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am thinking about adding this to my seed catalogue over at Jebadiah Fisher Garden Seed and Products

9 thoughts on “Rouge Vif d” Etampes

  1. I grew Rouge Vif d’ Etampes three years ago. They grew easily in my short season climate, they were beautiful pumpkins to look at, kinda flat with a reddish hue, but I did not find them good eats. Have you grown them and ate them before Bill? If so, and you found them good, maybe I got some weird seed. If not, I’d grow them and see if you like them. Although they probably could be used for livestock feed. They were really pretty for Thanksgiving table decorations though, 😉 They would probably sell well to Martha Stewart wannabe yuppies though……..

    • Queen this will be my first time growing them, It could be that it is such a old variety that we are not used to the flavor, I have read nothing but great things about this pumpkin, the long term storage of this pumpkin is what I am after. I make mostly soups out of my pumpkins, many ways to add extra flavor. Here is the beakdown of the nutrition aspects of pumpkins. This will help big time if things get ugly, and soup is easy to make and put up.

      Pumpkins are very good for you. They fit well into a health-conscious diet. And aside from that, they taste good!

      Pumpkins are low in calories but high in fiber. They are also low in sodium. The seeds are high in protein, iron, and the B vitamins.

      Pumpkins are very high in beta-carotene. Beta-carotene is an antioxident. It converts into Vitamin A, which is important to maintain a healthy body.

      Researchers believe that eating a diet rich in beta-carotene may reduce the risk of heart disease and some cancers. They also believe it helps to delay aging.

      1 cup of cooked pumpkin flesh contains:

      Calories 49
      Protein 2 grams
      Carbohydrate 12 grams
      Dietary Fiber 3 grams
      Calcium 37 mg
      Iron 1.4 mg
      Magnesium 22 mg
      Potassium 564 mg

      Zinc 1 mg
      Selenium .50 mg
      Vitamin C 12 mg
      Niacin 1 mg
      Folate 21 mcg
      Vitamin A 2650 IU
      Vitamin E 3 mg

      • Oh, I don’t dispute any of that. I actually have never had pumpkin soup. I prefer my pumpkin in pie, lol, and I found this particular cultivar bland and tasteless. It’s all perspective I guess as in the not so famous words of my father-in-law, “Anything tastes good when you’re hungrey.” will attest. 😉

  2. Maybe a side line of products to stock up…….Canning materials….Jars, lids, seals etc; Growers will need to purchase canning goods….just sayin’
    Papa Mike
    III

  3. I don’t use grow bulbs. I use standard T8 or compact fluorescent. I use 6500 color range, which is bright white, for early and vegetative growth or on leafy plants.I use bulbs in the 4000 to 4500 range , which is soft white, for flowering. The soft white has a lot of red spectrum in it and enhances flowering. I have saved a lot of money over gro-lite bulbs and have excellent results.

  4. Bill, just wanted to say that I enjoyed talking with you Saturday and I want to commend you on your efforts and “you’ve got to be f’ing kidding me” customer service. Seed arrived on time as promised. Will recommend to everyone that I can!!! Great job!

Leave a Reply

