LATE SUMMER GARDENS ARE A BITCH AND A HALF

20130701_08591920130701_090035

Please keep in mind it is Texas.

20130701_085953

I planted late for Texas… in late May.

20130701_085935

We have had two weeks of triple digit temps, and i was in PA for almost three weeks, including drive time.

20130701_090048

The Mrs. did a fair job on watering while I was gone, she is not a gardener. She was able to keep it all alive until my return.

20130701_090213

Yes that is a rosemary bush / plant. The T-posts should allow some amount of scale.You can see the pasture grass is dying. We need rain, badly. This is a summer garden… a late summer garden, and it’s a small one. I also have the watermelons that are not shown. We also have another 1/4 acre garden tilled and ready to go.

Can’t wait for fall, then you will see some food being grown. I have to run……. I have some garden seed I need to package up!

4 thoughts on “LATE SUMMER GARDENS ARE A BITCH AND A HALF

  1. Paging Dr Greenthumb… SJCO, you got it going on dude. I planted late as well and my black beauty’s and crooknecks are just about to top out for the year me thinks. I’m ready for them to go because I need the space… Tell mama she did good keeping your babies alive while you were out. I should have my first several mortgage lifters here pretty soon. My celebrity, beef steak, and early girls are turning tomatoes like it’s nobody’s business thanks to the bees finally showing up…I can’t say that I’ve ever seen a bigger patch of squash, zucchini, or melon like the one up top. Don’t know what it is, but I know the leaves are awfully similar.

  2. I got my first rain in months, yesterday. A real nice downpour. Except it came with quarter-sized hail.

    I think my garden will recover. Lots of branches broken off my tomatoes, and holes through cabbage leaves, though. At least I didn’t have to water this morning.

  3. I hear ya man. Zone 10 is runnin like the surface of Venus. Nuthin but hot peppers and black eyed peas right now. Three words: Long. Term. Storage.

Leave a Reply

